Norwegian music industry’s export facilitator and promotional organisation.

Envy wins Border Breaker Award

Envy awarded prestigious 2014 European Border Breakers Awards

The winners of the 2014 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA Awards), celebrating the best new pop acts in Europe which have achieved cross-border chart success, were announced this week by Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and Eurosonic Noorderslag, the European music conference and showcase festival.

Alongside acts from Austria, Denmark, France, Iceland, Ireland, Netherland, Sweden and the UK, Norway’s Envy took home one of the prestigious EBBA Awards. The award comes off the back of the success of their 2013 global hit ‘Am I Wrong’ that has topped charts at home and abroad.

Am I Wrong

The success of Envy’s 2011 breakthrough track ‘One Song’ pales in comparison with the performance of the Norwegian duo’s latest single ‘Am I Wrong’. Sereba and Vincent Dery, signed to their own label 5 Star via Parlophone Norway, have pulled of a number of feats this summer and autumn; ‘Am I Wrong’ quickly went to the top of Norway’s iTunes sales charts but, perhaps more surprising, repeated the feat in Sweden and Denmark backed by Danish Radio P3 and Swedish stations Mix Megapol/Rix FM and NRJ. The timeless crossover/world-musicesque track, produced by Will IDAP alias Nasty Kutt, has also reached no. 7 on the global Spotify charts, previously a predominantly Swedish domain. Envy’s Scandinavian success has earned them global attention, and recently the duo traveled to Atlanta, LA and NYC, reportedly to assess several major contract offers. Read the full story here.

Eurosonic Noorderslag ceremony

On the opening evening of one of Europe’s biggest live music industry gatherings of the year – Eurosonic Noorderslag; 10 European acts will receive a European Border Breaker Award during a spectacular TV-show presented by BBC-legend Jools Holland, recorded at the Oosterpoort Theatre Groningen and broadcast throughout Europe.
With the European Border Breakers Award – which is funded by the EU Culture Programme – the European Commission and the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) wish to highlight the success of 10 debuting European artists in selling albums and touring outside their home territory. The prize aims to stimulate the cross-border circulation of artists’ works and to highlight Europe’s great musical diversity.

The awards ceremony will take place on in early January 2014 on the opening night of Eursonic Noorderslag, The European Music Conference and Showcase Festival. The ceremony will be recorded by Dutch national television NOS / NTR, that will also broadcast the show that same weekend.

Former winners of the European Border Breaker Award include now established artists such as Carla Bruni, Adele, Katie Melua, Damien Rice, The Thrills, Gabriel Rios, The Fratellis, Basshunter, Dolores O’ Riordan and many more.


Related content