Norwegian music industry’s export facilitator and promotional organisation.

New Nordic Playlist curated by Erlend Øye

By Tomas Lauvland Pettersen Posted: 28. Aug, 2014

With a new album coming up this autumn, Kings of Convenience and The Whitest Boy Alive’s Erlend Øye takes time to create a strong Nordic Playlist.

The latest Nordic Playlist curator is Kings of Convenience/Whitest Boy Alive’s Erlend Øye, who is currently preparing the October release of his new and highly anticipated album ‘Legao’.

The Norwegian entries on Øye’s Nordic Playlist are quite diverse: Kakkmaddafakka’s infectious ‘Saviour’ is contrasted by guitarist Knut Reiersrud & organist Iver Kleive’s classic somber and sonorous piece ‘Som Den Gylne Sol Frembryter’.

Erlend’s first tastes of international attention occurred back in 1999 when his band Kings of Convenience released their single ‘Toxic Girl’, instantly grabbing the attention of music lovers the world over. The duo have since released three albums, with their seminal record Riot On An Empty Street celebrating its tenth anniversary this year.

As well as writing, recording and touring with Kings of Convenience, Erlend was also one quarter of the recently dis-banded Whitest Boy Alive, of Norwegian band Skog, is the founder of independent label Bubbles Records, a producer and has – throughout his luminous career – become a master in the art of collaboration, invention and playful creativity.

In the past few years, Erlend has relocated to Italy – a country and setting which has hugely inspired his most recent releases; ’La Prima Estate‘, released earlier this year. His most recent single, ‘Garota’ was the first track to be revealed from his upcoming album Legao – his second solo record, following on from 2003′s ‘Unrest’. The album was recorded in Reykjavík with the help of iconic Icelandic band Hjálmar, and is set to be released on the 3rd October 2014 through Bubbles Records.

Listen to Erlend Øye’s Nordic Playlist here:





Related content