Norwegian music industry’s export facilitator and promotional organisation.

Nils Henrik Asheim and Synne Skouenfor nominated for Nordic Council Music Prize 2018

Posted: 01. Jun, 2018

Synne Skouen and Nils Henrik Asheim

The nominated works were announced during the Bergen International Festival in Norway on 31 May

The Nordic Council Music Prize is awarded for musicianship of the highest standard, to a piece by a living composer one year and to an ensemble or group the next.

Nils Henrik Asheim is nominated for the work “Muohta” and Synne Skouen is nominated for the work “Ballerina”

The winner of the Nordic Council Music Prize and the DKK 350,000 that comes with it will be announced on 30. October at the Oslo Opera House in conjunction with the Session of the Nordic Council.

The Nordic Council awards five prizes each year – for literature, film, music, the environment, and children’s and young people’s literature. The purpose of the Nordic Council prizes is to raise interest in the Nordic cultural community and Nordic co-operation on the environment, as well as to recognise outstanding artistic and environmental efforts. The prizes help to elevate and give visibility to Nordic co-operation.


Jacob Anderskov
Thomas Agerfeldt Olesen


Mikko Joensuu 
Outi Tarkiainen

Faroe Islands



Georg Olsen


Daníel Bjarnason
Hugi Guðmundsson


Nils Henrik Asheim
Synne Skouen


Magnus Lindgren
Tebogo Monnakgotla


Lars Karlsson


Related content