Norwegian music industry’s export facilitator and promotional organisation.

Announcing the nominees for the Norwegian Music Export Award

By Erlend Buflaten Posted: 28. Apr, 2017

Kygo won the Music Export Award in 2016

Six incredible artists and producers are up for the second ever Norwegian Music Export Award

Music Norway and Spellemann want to honor those who promote Norwegian music export, and through their international projects stimulates an entire industry to aim for international success. This is the second year the Export Award is given out, and this year’s nominees consists of six artists and producers who all had an exceptional year in 2016.

– 2016 was an outstanding year for Norwegian music export, where Norway manifested its position as a music nation. Where we before had international success stories every few years, there’s now plenty of artists, songwriters and producers bringing Norwegian music to the highest level globally. This has made the jury’s job fun and challenging, and results in a list of nominees who all can show exceptional results beyond the borders of Norway in the year that passed, says jury member Amund Bjørklund.

Here are the nominees, in alphabetical order

Alan Walker
Alan Walker’s massive hit “Faded” put another Norwegian artist on the map globally. In 2016, the young artist, DJ and producer has become a household name globally. With only a few songs released, Alan Walker has gone on headline tours in Europe, Asia, North and South America, in addition to some of the biggest festivals in the world. The three songs Faded, Alone and Sing Me To Sleep have been streamed over 800.000.000 times on Spotify alone, and Faded has surpassed 1 billion streams on Youtube.

Cashmere Cat
Master producer Magnus August Høiberg, aka Cashmere Cat, has worked with Ariana Grande, The Weeknd and Kanye West, won Producer of the Year at Spellemann 2016 and Grammy nominated for Best RnB-song for ‘Luv’, performed by Tory Lanez. He is also credited as composer and producer on two tracks on Kanye West’s Life of Pablo, which was Grammy nominated for Best Rap album.

Lise Davidsen
The young soprano Lise Davidsen was first recognized after winning both Placido Domingos song contest Operalia and Queen Sonja International Music Competition. In addition she’s won several awards. In 2016 Davidsen debuted at Opernhaus Zürich, as Agathe in a new production of Jegebruden, had the title role in Ariadne auf Naxos at the festival in Glyndebourne and with Arctic Philharmonic in Tromsø, and Isabella in Das Liebesverbot at Teatro Colon in Buenos Aires. She has performed in Verdis Requiem with Edward Gardner and Philharmonica Orchestra at Royal Festival Hall in London. Vier letzte Lieder with The Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra and Edo de Waart at Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, in addition to doing a recital debut in London at the prestigious Rosenblatt Recital Series at Wigmore Hall. 2016 was a year where Davidsen excelled internationally in her genre.

Mette Henriette
Mette Henriette made headlines internationally as the first artists to release a double album on renowned label ECM, home to amongst others, Keith Jarret and Jan Garbarek. The album was met with raving reviews globally. The jazz saxophonist has toured the world and marked herself as an important artist in her genre.

Nasty Kutt
William Wiik Larsen, aka Will IDAP, or Nasty Kutt is a veteran in Norwegian hip hop, and has previously worked with Karpe Diem and Onkl P and music collective Pass It. In 2016 he switched lanes with massive success as “H.O.L.Y.” went number 1 on Billboard Hot Country Songs. Larsen have been at Billboard before, with Nico & Vinz’ “Am I Wrong”, in 2014.

Espen Berg, Simen Eriksrud and Nick Strand of Seeb had a massive 2016. Their remix of “I Took A Pill In Ibiza”, spent weeks on Billboard Hot 100, peaking at number 4. The song became one of the biggest songs of 2016 globally, with more than 800.000.000 Spotify streams and a Grammy nod for Song of the Year. In addition, the group’s remix of Coldplay’s “Hymn for the Weekend” has surpassed than 300.000.000 and their original songs more than 100.000.000.

The jury consists of:

Amund Bjørklund, Bugge Wesseltoft, Ingrid Røynesdal, Limita Lunde, Martha Lyse and Tomas Linnes.

The winner will be announced at a special event in Oslo June 9.


Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Sign up for our newsletter