Norwegian music industry’s export facilitator and promotional organisation.

Spellemannpris winners announced

By Tomas Lauvland Pettersen Posted: 19. Jan, 2015

This weekend saw the award ceremony for the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy, the Spellemanpris, being held in Stavanger. Nico & Vinz took home the night’s most coveted prize: the Spellemann of the Year award.

This weekend saw the awards ceremony for the 2014 Spellemannpris Awards, the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy, staged at the Stavanger Concert Hall.

Spellemann of the Year

A total of 23 awards across the genre spectrum were bestowed to the Spellemannpris recipients with veteran Morten Abel and Nico & Vinz receiving the evening’s most prestigious prizes; respectively the Honorary Award of the Year and the Spellemann of the Year awards.

Said Nico & Vinz in a statement on national TV on Saturday after receiving their Spellemann of the Year award: – Fantastic! Is this for real? We’re at loss for words. Thank you Norway, Spellemann and everyone that’s supported us. To the other nominees: Let’s get rolling, conquer Norway and then the world! Let’s give some good music to the people!


Full list of 2014 Spellemannpris award winners:


Newcomer of the Year: Emilie Nicolas

Lyricist of the Year: Siri Nilsen – Skyggebokser

Composer of the Year: Ingrid Helen Håvik (Highasakite) – Silent Treatment

Hit of the Year: Admiral P – Engel

Honorary Award: Morten Abel

Pop group of the Year: Highasakite – Silent Treatment

Rock: The Cheaters – Rites of Spring

Indie: Thea Hjelmeland – Solar Plexus

Blues: Daniel Eriksen – Moonshine Hymns

Folk: Ellen Sofie Hovland – Skandinavisk Sjel

Country: Claudia Scott – Follow The Lines

Schläger/dance orhcestra: Dansebændet – Med Sans For Dans

Children’s music: Christine Sandtorv – Stjerneteller – Dinomaur

Jazz: Marius Neset with the Trondheim Jazz Orchestra – Lion

Open Class: Jenny Hval & Susanna – Meshes of Voice

Classical: 1B1, Erlend Skomsvoll, Christian Ihle Hadland and Jan Bjøranger – Holberg Variatons

Contemporary: Håkon Stene – Lush Laments for Lazy Mammal

Electronica: Mental Overdrive – Everything is Connected

Urban: Store P – Regnmannen

Metal: Execration – Morbid Dimensions

Pop soloist of the Year: Emilie Nicolas – Like I’m A Warrior

Traditional folk music: Gjermund Larsen – Trønderbarok

Spellemann of the Year: Nico & Vinz



Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Sign up for our newsletter